Black spots on comb???

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by gigi005, Aug 29, 2010.

1. gigi005

gigi005 New Egg

Aug 29, 2010
    Hello! Newbie here to the forums and the chicken world, so bare with me if I'm asking a question that's been asked a million times...

My chickens have these black spots on their combs. Here's the info on them...

2 of 6 chickens have them bad, 2 of the others have one small spot on theirs.
    I am not sure of the breed (black/brown chickens)
    I'm not sure if they are still laying eggs because I don't know which chickens are giving me eggs. I am getting 4+ eggs a day.
    They are 8 months old.
    I think they've had the spots for up to a month, I just noticed this last week, my husband noticed several weeks ago and forgot to tell me [​IMG]
    They are behaving normally and the poop looks normal.
    I haven't treated them at all yet.
    The coop missed its cleaning for a few weeks, once I saw this I cleaned it very thoroughly!
    Bedding consists of pine shavings.
    Their diet is corn mash and veggie leftovers.

Any ideas what this is? And more importantly, can we eat the eggs, they're stacking up fast!

thanks so much for any help!
    lisa

[​IMG]

Last edited: Aug 29, 2010
  2. Falcon61

Falcon61 Chillin' With My Peeps

May 5, 2010
    Brown Leghorn, do they peck at each other a lot?

3. Lorije1

Lorije1 Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 13, 2010
    I am no expert

Do they free range at all? Maybe they are missing protein in their diet? Do you have crushed oyster shell out for them for calcium?

Like I said - not sure myself but those may be some questions you'll want to give info on as well

Last edited: Aug 29, 2010
  4. BekahBear

BekahBear Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 3, 2010
    Arizona
    Quote:i agree. they look like scabs on the comb from pecking at each other

5. Alabama ee

Alabama ee Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 18, 2010