blending different age chicks?

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by smcdermott, Dec 28, 2014.

1. smcdermott

smcdermott Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 9, 2014
    Central Fl
    So sorry, I am new to this.
    Just got 2 2day old silkie chicks.
    Can I put them in with my one 4week old silkie chick so that they both have the heat lamp?
    OR do they need to be seperated??

Aslo I am reading that at 4 to 5 weeks they don't need the heat lamp any longer? How will I know for sure?

2. ChickenCanoe

ChickenCanoe True BYC Addict

Nov 23, 2010
    St. Louis, MO
    You'll know when they stay away from it. They may still pile up under it at night but that doesn't mean they need it.

I'd wait till the youngest are 4 or 5 days old so they're more mobile. Make sure they have lots of space in case one of the older ones want to be a bully.

1 person likes this.
  3. Free Feather

Free Feather Chillin' With My Peeps

I have had them together. It worked for me, but some things could go wrong with this. I would try it and see how the older ones act with the younger ones. For the heat, I woul try to wean them all off when the older ones are eight weeks old. The babies will be fine if the older ones where anything like mine. My older female silkie chick tried to cover the babies and would show them where the food is, and make sweet little noises at them. It was adorable. I am hoping it means she will be a future good mother.

1 person likes this.
  4. azygous

azygous Chicken Obsessed

Dec 11, 2009
    Colorado Rockies
    Some time back, I had two batches of chicks, and the age difference was six weeks. The size difference was much too great to place them together in a brooder, but I partitioned the brooder with some plastic netting, and that way they all could be together safely without any of the tiny ones getting bullied or hurt. It worked out great.

5. smcdermott

Dec 9, 2014
    Central Fl