Bloat!!!

Discussion in 'Other Pets & Livestock' started by PotterWatch, Mar 27, 2009.

1. PotterWatch

PotterWatch My Patronus is a Chicken

Apr 22, 2008
    Virginia
    Bella has bloat. I stupidly did not notice until after she had had her grain during evening milking. I had just got home from working for 13hrs and wasn't paying close enough attention. She has some rumenal sounds (is that what you call it?), and through walking, massaging, oil, and baking soda, we have gotten her to burp quite a number of times but she still looks really big and isn't acting her normal self. At what point can I stop walking her around and rubbing her to get her to burp? We tried tubing her (my husband is a paramedic and we looked up diagrams and such online first), but it didn't seem to release any gas. Is there anything else we can do? She is one of my first goats, we have had them since November, so I am totally new at this and very worried we will lose her to this.

2. bheila

bheila Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 8, 2008
    Kent, Wa
    I read on another goat website 25cc of Milk of Magnesia or 30cc-60cc of oil but it didn't say whether it was mineral oil of vegetable oil. I wish I could ship my Debloat to you instantly [​IMG] How much oil did you give her?

3. PotterWatch

Apr 22, 2008
    Virginia
    She got about 1/2- 3/4C of oil. We don't have a drenching gun and weren't to the point of tubing when we gave it, so she just drank it... hope that will still work.

4. bheila

bheila Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 8, 2008
    Kent, Wa
    Beth on TGS said to keep doing what your doing.....I'll [​IMG] for you

5. Goattalker

Goattalker Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 19, 2009