blood in poop of a 3 wk old chick

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by sabrinah09, Mar 25, 2013.

1. sabrinah09

sabrinah09 Out Of The Brooder

Mar 18, 2013
    theres a little blood in poop from one of my ss chicks. I dont know which one but Ive got 4. what should I do Im new to the chicken raisin

2. xxxgeorgiexxx

xxxgeorgiexxx Out Of The Brooder

Jul 3, 2011
    Wales
    sounds like it could be coccidiosis you can get medicine to put in their water but i gave mine milk when mine had it a year ago and they got better within a couple of days

Last edited: Mar 25, 2013
  3. my sunwolf

my sunwolf Chillin' With My Peeps

You can put Corid in their water. 9.6% liquid solution is 1tsp per gallon for 5 days. Powder is 1/2tsp per gallon for 5 days. Clean out the bedding, replace with dry and try to keep it that way. After the Corid treatment (on day 6), give a probiotic (yogurt works) to help their systems.

Last edited: Mar 25, 2013
  4. sabrinah09

Mar 18, 2013
    they are eating the medicated cick starter

5. my sunwolf

Then do not medicate them. Is it bright red? Is there a lot of it? Is it more of a salmon color, and only pieces in the poo? Sometimes shed intestinal lining can look like blood. Have you fed them berries as treats? Otherwise, I don't know why there would be blood in the poo of chicks eating medicated starter, unless the coccidiosis bacteria are resistant to amprolium (the ingredient in the medicated starter that kills cocci bacteria).

6. sabrinah09

Mar 18, 2013
    Its not all the time. I just seen it this mornin. No they havent had any treats yet.

7. my sunwolf

Blood:
    [​IMG]

Intestinal lining:
    [​IMG]

If it really is blood, I'm not sure what to do, and maybe someone else will comment.

8. LovedMyAlydar

LovedMyAlydar Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 15, 2007
    Kentucky