1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

blood spots in eggs - breed differences?

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by Amina, Oct 26, 2013.

1. 0-10%

2 vote(s)
    66.7%
  2. 10-25%

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  3. 25-50%

1 vote(s)
    33.3%
  4. 50-100%

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  1. Amina

Amina Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 12, 2013
    Raleigh, NC
    So this is my first time keeping chickens, and I got four hens this summer: 2 buff orpingtons, 1 barred rock, and an easter egger. The easter egger always lays perfect eggs, the barred rock usually lays small eggs with just a white, and the 2 buff orpingtons lay eggs that ALWAYS have large blood spots on the yolks. I know the blood spots aren't dangerous or anything, but I find them really unappetizing and they make me hesitate to give eggs to friends.

My question is, is this a tendency of the buff orpington breed, or was I just unlucky with the two orpingtons that I got? If I get more chickens, are there breeds that I should avoid if I want to avoid the blood spots? For that matter, are there breeds to avoid if I don't want the small yolk-less eggs all the time? Also, do these kinds of problems tend to clear up after a molt?

2. cackleberrycam

cackleberrycam Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 28, 2013
    It could be a hereditary trait. It usualy is a little blood vessel and it happens most to older or younger chickens.[​IMG]
    Good luck!

3. Amina

Jul 12, 2013
    Raleigh, NC
    Do you know how old chickens normally are when they start doing this? The orpingtons and the easter egger were last year's pullets, and the barred rock was from the year before last.

4. cackleberrycam

cackleberrycam Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 28, 2013
    It somtimes is in the pullet's first eggs they lay.