Bloody beaks.

albie2010

Hatching
Aug 23, 2016
Hello I am new to turkeys. I just purchased 5 bronze turkeys. They were 7 weeks old when I got them now they are 9 weeks. The week I got them we got tons of rain and they all became sick so I moved them to inside my barn in a clean stall. Giving them meds through their water and keeping it clean. They are all eating and drinking fine. When they first got sick they all had bloody beaks. But now two of my turkeys have bloody beaks and won't heal. The beaks actually appear to be deteriorating
1f44e-1f3fb.png
I will post pictures tomorrow morning!! Thanks! Any advise helps.

5 bronze turkeys. They were 7 weeks old when I got them now they are 9 weeks.

What were they being fed prior to your acquisition (if you know). What are you feeding them, now (ex: game bird starter x% protein)?

they all became sick

Lowered feed intake, lowered activity level, bunching up together, swollen faces, etc??? Any change in droppings? If so, describe.

Giving them meds through their water

What med(s), how much/how many days?

When they first got sick they all had bloody beaks. But now two of my turkeys have bloody beaks and won't heal. The beaks actually appear to be deteriorating. I will post pictures tomorrow morning.

Yes, good shots are always good. If youi have a problem uploading/linking from BYC, then use a free image host (think we still have a minimum post count for new members, before photos can be put up, to limit potential for spammers). Bloody beaks owing to delamination (layers of beak separating): possible fungal condition (very wet, recently) - in which case a med like Nystatin could be painted on/in beaks//possible nutrition/vitamin problem//possible mechanical injury owing to "pickers" - blood at bases of beaks in random locations - observe for some length, in one sitting, for this behavior (if any - unlikely, but it's not unknown).