1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

bloody bums and molting?

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by WalnutRidge, Mar 3, 2013.

1. WalnutRidge

WalnutRidge New Egg

Feb 13, 2013
    I am a newbie at this whole chicken thing. So, when my husband told me that a couple of our girls had bloody butts, I looked it up on here and read lots of threads and wrote down all the different advice. I immediately went to the store and bought blue kote, wonder dust, a red light and a pecking block. Unfortunately I didn't get back to the chickens in time and they killed one of my Buffs. Her name was Lily and she was the sweetest lil girl and we were beyond devastated. So, I separated the other 2 Buffs from the rest of my mixed group and blue koted their bums and changed all the lights to red and kept them all locked in the coup for a couple of days. This did help, but I'm still not sure why it started in the first place. Most of them have been molting for the past few months, or at least I thought they were molting. I've checked them all and there are no mites in sight. I'm down to one Buff and one black sex link that still have to be blue koted daily, but they are no where near as bloody as they once were. I just hope they start getting feathers back and quit picking on each other. I'm terrified to go down to the coup and find another one of my girls gone. I would like to thank everyone on hear for their helpful information that I've already received and am always willing to try anything to make my girls (and our rooster) happy, so if there's anything else I should try or consider, please let me know.

2. Judy

Judy Moderator Staff Member

Feb 5, 2009
    South Georgia