Bloody Feet

Discussion in 'Quail' started by IRISHBOXER77, Sep 16, 2009.

1. IRISHBOXER77

IRISHBOXER77 Out Of The Brooder

Jun 17, 2009
    I am new to quail and I have a problem. I am on my 2nd batch of bobwhites, I only have 7 in my brooder and 6 that are about 3 months old. The 7 I have in the brooder thay are picking at there feet so bad they just lay around most of the day. Some of there feet are really bloody and only hop around on one leg. I did not have this problem with the bobwhites I had before. What may be the cause of this?

Thank you.

2. Plain_View_Farm

Plain_View_Farm Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 5, 2008
    Central Virginia
    Are you using a white light bulb for heat? We use red light bulbs to help prevent that. From what I've read, they think each others toes are worms and pick at them. Under the red light it isn't as much of a problem.

David

3. IRISHBOXER77

Jun 17, 2009
    I do use a red heat light to limit there stress.

4. byoung14ever

byoung14ever Chillin' With My Peeps

May 15, 2009
    Brookston In
    Put some greenery(small tree limbs, spruce branches) in there for hiding and it gives them something else to pick at when bored. I would remove the injured and put in a different brooder until they heal. It seems once they are injured and have a bloody spot the others will key in on it and keep pecking until it dies. I dont know why they do it I have some hatches do the same thing others do not.

5. IRISHBOXER77

Jun 17, 2009
    I will give that a try, the last hatch I had where fine. Bobwhites are killers I wish they would all get along. I hope the ones that are really bad off live.

6. byoung14ever

byoung14ever Chillin' With My Peeps

May 15, 2009
    Brookston In
    I have had some pretty bad live. If you have any poultry antibiotics and/or electrolites this will help. I always pull them and put in their own little triage so they can rest and heal without being picked on further. Brad

7. shelleyd2008