BLR Wyandottes

Discussion in 'Buy Sell Auction - Archives' started by Picco, Apr 23, 2007.

1. Picco

Picco Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 14, 2007
    NY
    I would like to start a small flock of blue laced red wyandottes. I've been raising chickens for many years now and I thinks its time for me to get some quality birds. I would like to buy either hatching eggs or chicks from quality stock. I'd like to end up with about six adults so I'd buy a dozen or so eggs or chicks. I already have to SL hens, what would the result be of crossing them with a BLR roo? I will be ready for the eggs or chicks May 10th.

2. Picco

Mar 14, 2007
    NY
  3. Smoky73

Smoky73 Lyon Master

Feb 8, 2007
    Colorado
    I bought eggs from Red Dirt Chicken Ranch several years ago and a two of the hens on my website are the results of those eggs. I just recently bought some eggs on line because my wyandottes are not really laying, (two years old). I have been reading on the yahoo group that BLRW have poor fertility and poor egg laying. I have noticed this since I have start raising them and I have decided to just not breed them actively anymore. I will keep a few around, but just not going to purposely breed them to sell anymore, takes up too much pen space to isolate them for breeding and them get nothing. If I want more at anytime I will just buy eggs again. Incedently, I hatched 5 chicks from a dozen eggs I bought from someone in WA.

4. Picco

Mar 14, 2007
    NY
    Thanks, I just emailed them, I hope they have them available. It seems like everyplace that has quality BLRs is sold out. I don't really want to order chicks from a large hatchery because I'm looking for quality, but I might have to try it out. Has anyone had any success?

5. CarriBrown

CarriBrown Overrun With Chickens Premium Member

Picco-
    I have a friend with a trio. Would you like me to send him your email address? He can ship you some eggs. Also, BlissChick has BLRWs and I have a chick from her.