BLRW experts...is this good lacing?

Discussion in 'General breed discussions & FAQ' started by Hangin Wit My Peeps, Oct 5, 2009.

1. Hangin Wit My Peeps

Hangin Wit My Peeps AutumnBreezeChickens.com

Apr 20, 2008
    Birnamwood, Wisconsin
    I got this little one free from Amy and I would like opinions on it please. I have NO clue what a young bird should look like so any opinions will be welcomed [​IMG] This little one is about 6-8 weeks old i'm guessing.
    [​IMG]

2. McSpin

McSpin Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 1, 2007
    South Western NY
    I'm no expert - still in the early learning stages myself, but I can say that lacing is something you can't judged early. It changes tremendously. I have 3 lines that include about 50 birds between 8 and 22 weeks old and the pattern has changed greatly since they were young and seems to continue to change as new feathers grow in.

From what I understand, it changes again after their first molt, so it's a long time before you can truly evaluate the pattern. That said, your bird's pattern looks reasonable compared to other birds I've seen that age.

The most important trait to cull for is body-type. Out of 15 cockerels over 17 weeks old I've only got one that looks like it's got good potential for the true wyandotte body-type. Personally, I wouldn't worry about pattern until after you get a bird that looks like it's got the wyandotte shape.

3. Hangin Wit My Peeps

Apr 20, 2008
    Birnamwood, Wisconsin
    Thanks much...That is good to know and never thought they changed that much so I'm glad I asked. I'm not really planning on breeding them at all but just was curious. I have five...looks to be two boys and three girls and just wanted some color in my flock of laying hens so thought these guys would be a good addition [​IMG] Thanks for the opinion!

4. McSpin

McSpin Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 1, 2007
    South Western NY
    If that's all you want, you're all set. Even the ones with poor patterns are gorgeous birds.