BLRW?'s

Discussion in 'General breed discussions & FAQ' started by cpartist, Jul 10, 2010.

1. cpartist

cpartist Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 29, 2009
    Alachua County FL
    I'll soon be separating my spring hatchlings into breeding pens and could use some input.

This is actually a two part question. I have these 2 older (pics were taken at age 12-14 weeks) BLRW roo's:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

I also have 12, 8 week olds. 6 are roo's. I'd thought to raise them all up and choose the best, but so far, while some of
    the younger are looking very nice, I'm not seeing any looking better than the two older at their age. I have a local person
    ready to take my extras roo's now, and that would help with the feed bill...should I let the younger ones go now, while I have a buyer?

I'm new to the breed, so do these young cockerels look to be promising enough to you BLRW experts to be keepers?
    The photo of the splash was taken a couple of weeks after the blue, but he is larger and longer than the blue.
    Both sets of chicks came from parents of Foley stock, but blended with another (Sterling for the older, Penny the younger),
    so there would a little more out-crossing putting the older 2 over the younger pullets. I like that one is dark and one light,
    and they've been raised together so hopefully they will continue to get along.

Second question: Two of the 6 younger pullets are single combed. I'll be keeping them as layers, just not sure where. I've read
    you sometimes need to introduce the single comb to help with fertility, but do you wait until you are having fertility problems to
    add them to the breeding pen? I have other breeding pens of birds that lay dark eggs and blue eggs, so if I put them in with them I'll
    easily be able to tell their eggs apart.

I also have Buff Orpingtons and have read of some doing projects with these. How difficult...how many generations would this take?