Blue and Blue splash Marans!

Discussion in 'General breed discussions & FAQ' started by CuzChickens, Oct 11, 2016.

1. CuzChickens

CuzChickens CountryChick

Apr 24, 2016
    Virginia
    Hello guys!

I have been on a thread with Blue marans, but hey do not really want folks on it with hatchery stock and whatnot, so I thought I would create one where anybody with Blue and Blue splash marans can join. I hope my friend @Amy King Hanson will chime in here, she owns some nice Blue Copper Marans. I would love to see your pictures, hear your stories, and just anything related to them. I hope to get some next year from Amy, so I am learning all I can!

ALL BYC RULES APPLY.

2. greenchicken22

greenchicken22 Just Hatched

Oct 11, 2016
    I'm new to byc as of 8 hours ago and I am just reading some discussions. I have two cuckoos and would love to see pics of the blue Karan's and hopefully get a few more Marans to add to my flock next year. Where can I get blues?

Last edited: Oct 11, 2016
  3. CuzChickens

CuzChickens CountryChick

Apr 24, 2016
    Virginia
  4. Amy King Hanson

Amy King Hanson Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 20, 2016
    Chautauqua New York
    CuzChickens thanks for starting this thread. I would love to share in others journeys of growing their flock. To clarify, I really only sell locally.

Two things: 1) Breeders vs Hobbyist and 2) My story

1) Buying from a breeder, you are getting quality birds from someone with experience and knowledge. Breeders usually hatch hundreds of eggs, cull (doesn't always mean kill) the imperfections, and produce birds that are show quality. When buying from a breeder, you're investing into birds that already have the work done for you.

Hobbyist, love their chickens and will hopefully have some experience and knowledge. Usually hatching less and produce lovely birds that people love. Their birds are a little less expensive but may take some work if you want show quality.