Blue-ish Ameraucana ****** NEW PICTURES OF 2ND BIRD in Post #19 ******

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by aaggjg, Nov 23, 2011.

1. aaggjg

aaggjg Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 29, 2011
    Ok so I am a total chicken newbie and don't know much... well 3 months into my chicken adventure. I bought 2 supposedly pure bred pullets at the end of August. I really wanted a Blue .... The breeder only had a 3 month old blue who was all grey when I got it but now at 6-7 ish months has some brown feathers (yuck) and I got a black 6 week old to keep it company... So I am guessing not purebred?? Also in the last few weeks the comb has gotten really red which I thought was a sign of about to lay ..... Then I started thinking about this chicken a few nights ago and thought hmmm the comb seems like it is a lot bigger too... and then all of a sudden I thought is this a rooster and duh at 6-7 months it should be obvious as its not a silkie [​IMG] but like I said I am a newbie and this is what I was told from a breeder so I took it at face value. I took a few pictures tonight .... I feel really dumb not questioning this earlier but it has not crowed .... so any input would be greatly appreciated! Thanks & Happy Thanksgiving.

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Last edited: Nov 24, 2011
  2. pips&peeps

pips&peeps There is no "I" in Ameraucana

Jan 18, 2008
    Newman Lake, WA
    It's a cockerel. Couldn't tell you if it is a true ameraucana or not.

3. speckledhen

speckledhen Intentional Solitude Premium Member

Could be an EE or a true Ameraucana that just has a great deal of base color leakage.

4. Happy Chooks

Happy Chooks Moderator Staff Member

Jul 9, 2009
    Northern CA
    My Coop
    No, not a pure bred - he's and Easter Egger cockerel.

5. aaggjg

Sep 29, 2011
    Thats what I thought.... The lightbulb finally went off the other day.... Not to mention he is a MEAN BUGGER so he is out of here!!!