BO and Ameraucana - Cockerel or Pullet?

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by moana-az, Aug 17, 2010.

1. moana-az

moana-az New Egg

Aug 17, 2010
    I'm new to chickens, and am loving it! ... got 7 chicks about 2-3 months ago. All were supposed to be girls. Already had to find a new home for a Blue Andalusian cockerel - he was easy to spot because he developed differently from another BA I have and he started crowing at a young age.

Have 2 more chickens that may be roos. A Buff Orpington and an Ameraucana. The BO started making a honking sound a week or so ago. Today the honk is more elongated, kinda a "honk-a-honk." The Ameraucana isn't making anything like a crow yet, but this may be due to the fact that he/she's lower on the pecking order. I question the Ameraucana's gender because it's bigger than my other Ameraucana and has a larger pinkish-red comb coming in.

First two photos are "Marley" the BO. Third photo is "Michelle" (maybe "Sheldon"?). They are currently between 3 and 4 months old.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. pips&peeps

pips&peeps There is no "I" in Ameraucana

Jan 18, 2008
    Newman Lake, WA
    The ameraucana is actually an easter egger and he is a cockerel. I am not any good at sexing BO, so can't help you there.

3. erin76

erin76 Chillin' With My Peeps

May 17, 2010
    Battle Ground, WA
    I think the Bo is a roo...mine is 14 weeks and she doesn't have a comb like that yet....legs look thicker too...

4. sunflowerenvy

sunflowerenvy Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 4, 2010
    south/west tn
    bo is a roo

5. moana-az

moana-az New Egg

Aug 17, 2010
    An Easter Egger? What does that mean? (Sorry, again I'm new to chickens.)

6. pips&peeps

pips&peeps There is no "I" in Ameraucana

Jan 18, 2008
    Newman Lake, WA
    an easter egger is a bird of mixed heritage that carries the blue egg gene.

ameraucanas have certain colors, body type, eye color, skin color, etc.