Bob Whites

Discussion in 'Quail' started by hillbillybill, Jul 19, 2011.

1. hillbillybill

hillbillybill Out Of The Brooder

Jul 16, 2011
    I'm mulling around in my mind about raising quail for fun and profit. I have been doing some research and came across this site, which has already been of some aid. I called up a game resort that is just a few miles up the road from where I live to inquire about whether or not they purchase their quail, and if so what kind of quail, how many, and how much they pay. The owner assured me he does buy the birds from breeders and pays $3.50 per bird. I realize I am new to this, but from my research I've done thus far it appears to me the cost of raising Bob Whites would be considerably more than that. Am I looking in the wrong places for prices or is the guy pulling my chain at what he pays per bird?
    Also, are Bob Whites raised to 20 weeks before they are sold to hunting clubs?
    Perhaps I need to reconsider whether I want to sell to individuals or to hunting resorts. If I sell to individuals would Pharoah quails be a better choice?

2. LivingRootsFarm

LivingRootsFarm Out Of The Brooder

Jun 11, 2011
    Samsula
    Not totally sure what you are exactly asking...but I am new to quail too. As far as pricing when I bought my Coturnix from a farm swap I paid $2 a piece for them. I do not have Bobwhites but did see some for sale for $5. I originally wanted the bobwhites but with further research I found as a first time quailer I should probably start with the Coturnix. I am not that familar with hunting resorts so I can not help you there. Also make sure you check into your rules for your state. I know here in Florida you must obtain a gamefarm license if you want to sell the birds or the eggs. Good Luck!

3. Whitehouse Quail

Whitehouse Quail Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 1, 2009
    Michigan