Bobcat attack

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Mindini36, Oct 19, 2014.

1. Mindini36

Mindini36 Out Of The Brooder

Oct 19, 2014
    Hello,

I am new to the backyard chicken world. I have 4 chickens and live on 5 acres mostly wooded in Florida no fence. I let my girls roam free and for 7 months all was well in the world. About a week ago I heard the chickens making quite a ruckus and I ran out front to find a very large bobcat attacking one of my New Hampshire Reds! My australorp was doing her best to attack the bobcat to no avail... I ran out screaming at it and chased it in the woods with my girl in its mouth... I almost caught it but I fell.. Anyways I thought she was lost and that evening I came home to find all my Chickens in the coop. (The three had hid in the woods and wouldn't come out) so here is my question... (Lucky is her new name) has a med sized wound on her neck and is missing most of the feathers in that area... I cleaned it and sprayed her with Bactine... She wasn't eating the first 2 days but drinking water. She is now eating slowly. (It has been a week since the incident) She seemed to get around ok and seemed like she was getting better... Well yesterday she won't put any weight on her right foot.. I do not see any wounds and it doesn't appear to be broken she just won't put much weight on it and stands on one leg or sits.. The other girls seem to have been leaving her alone so it have kept her in the coop. She is eating and I put some ACV in their water. I just the the girls out for the first time today and boy were they happy but Lucky stayed in the coop.... Is there anything more I should or can be doing for her... She has been through quite a bit......

2. ChickenCanoe

ChickenCanoe Chicken Obsessed

Nov 23, 2010
    St. Louis, MO