Bobcat Ripped Wing Off - Should I try to save him? How?

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by RHRanch, Dec 13, 2011.

1. RHRanch

RHRanch Chillin' With My Peeps

Okay, I have a young rooster that had its wing torn off by a bobcat last night. He is up and around and eating and drinking. I know hes in pain because he does sit in the corner when not eating and drinking. I am studying for finals and only discovered his injury this afternoon. The wing is torn off at the shoulder joint (wing entirely gone). I am not sure if its clean or if bone is exposed, its well scabbed and I am loathe to mess with it, lest he bleed out. What do you all think? Anyone have any luck with this sort of injury? Anything I can do as supportive care? Or should I just cull him? I appreciate any advise either way.

2. nurse_turtle

nurse_turtle Chillin' With My Peeps

May 28, 2011
    Foothills of NC
    You will get lots of advice here. I would euthanize. Good luck making the right decision for you and your Roo.

3. LindsayB

LindsayB Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 26, 2008
    Cypress, Texas
    If he's still eating a drinking I would just see what happens. Watch and make sure it does not get infected. Chickens can do just fine without a wing, you'll just need to make sure he has a roost for him thats low enough.

4. LindsayB

Apr 26, 2008
    Cypress, Texas
    I also would isolate him now if you haven't already. The other chickens will see his wound and peck it.

5. RHRanch

he's isolated in a clean environment

6. RHRanch

Quote:See, I am wondering if I should give him antibiotics (I know from when I was bitten by a feral cat that cat bites will cause an infection) and then pack and wrap the wound with gauze and vetwrap and see how it goes. On the other hand, I hate him to be in pain or suffer too much.

7. LindsayB

Apr 26, 2008
    Cypress, Texas