Bobwhite Quail Questions.

Discussion in 'Quail' started by Jmay402, Mar 23, 2017.

1. Jmay402

Jmay402 Out Of The Brooder

Mar 30, 2015
    I have had chickens for several years. I love watching my chickens scratch around and have fun in the back yard. They are very easy to care for. Lately, I have been interested in keeping a few quail, but I know very little about them. I have a few questions about them.

1. Can quail eggs be hatched in a chicken incubator or do they require different heat / humidity settings?
    2. Are they as easy as chickens to care for?
    3. If you release a farm raised bobwhite into the wild, will it survive or die?
    4. Are they very costly or hard to keep only a few? maybe 5 to 10.
    5. Will they sit on their eggs and hatch and raise the babies?

2. JaeG

JaeG Overrun With Chickens

Sep 29, 2014
    New Zealand
    I have no experience with bobwhite quail but incubating them is the same as chicken eggs. I just wouldn't 'dry incubate' because they are smaller than chicken eggs and have thinner shells so they are more at risk of losing too much moisture.

From what I've read they can be very aggressive towards one another and are best kept in pairs. Chicks need a very spacious brooder to reduce aggression. Just be aware that chickens carry diseases that can be passed into game birds so you have to keep them away from your chickens and ensure you wash your hands and change your shoes between runs/enclosures.

To release them you have to expose them to as little human contact as possible and you may need a licence to release them into the wild.

Quail also can't free range like chickens.

Coturnix/Japanese quail are my favourite. They only need a small cage, are sweet and friendly and it is cute to watch them interacting with each other.

Hopefully someone more experienced can fill in the gaps.

3. Jaybird14

Jaybird14 Out Of The Brooder

Dec 30, 2014