Boiled Eggs...what am I doing wrong???

Discussion in 'Egg, Chicken, & Other Favorite Recipes' started by Juliehoward, Apr 21, 2009.

1. Juliehoward

Juliehoward New Egg

Mar 29, 2009
    Hello,

I'm very new to keeping chickens, and really enjoying it.

I have 4 lovely hens and they're very happy and healthy and laying well.

The question I have is.....

today I boiled a few eggs for a salad, and the shells were really difficult to remove as the shells were wanting to stick to the white of the egg. It doesnt bother me, and they tasted lovely, but we have friends coming over tomorrow for a bbq and wondered if I was doing something wrong (i would like the eggs to look AND taste perfect tomorrow lol)

the eggs boiled were 4 days old

thanks
    Julie

2. DALBERT

DALBERT Out Of The Brooder

Mar 14, 2009
    Maine
    When the chickens get older the shell will seperate easier.

3. ScoobyRoo

ScoobyRoo Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 21, 2008
    Land of OZ
    Can't hard boil eggs that fresh. Some hold them for at least 3 weeks before hard boiling them. Some have their own tricks too. Just have to find one that works for you.
    Good luck

BTW:welcome

4. Juliehoward

Juliehoward New Egg

Mar 29, 2009
    [​IMG]
    thank you for that...trouble is we only have 4 hens....and try to keep the eggs down to about 6 on stock....so we give some away to neighbours and never have an egg thats 3 weeks old lol

might keep some on stock in future !!!!

thanks again
    Julie

5. Picky Chicky

Picky Chicky Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 22, 2008
    Holly Grove, VA
    I've been told that a hint of vinegar or a hint of salt will help. I've tried the salt trick and it didn't help me any. I haven't tried the vinegar yet.

Edited: The vinegar or salt would go in the water the eggs are boiled in. Forgot that part. [​IMG]

Last edited: Apr 21, 2009
  6. mwdh1

mwdh1 Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 21, 2009
    Indiana