Boody Hen calls it quits after 3 weeks!

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by Big Mama K, Jun 21, 2010.

1. Big Mama K

Big Mama K Out Of The Brooder

Jun 21, 2010
    Fort Branch
    My hen has faithfully been sitting on her eggs for about 3 weeks! We have tomorrow to be day 21, give or take 2-3days but she called it quits last night! So now I have this egg and no momma! I candled it this afternoon to check oh it and saw movement so I have know idea what I need to do! I am new to all of this just got the chicken from a relative about 2 months ago. So this is my first expereince with chickens, eggs and hatching! Please someone other there help me try to help this egg hatch! I have an Hova-Bator Incubator Model # 1602N but I have no idea how to use it and it is missing it instructions and red vent caps! If anyone has any ideas please let me know!!

2. Big Mama K

Jun 21, 2010
    Fort Branch
    Please someone help me! I don't wanna lose this baby chick being so close to it's due date!

3. rodriguezpoultry

rodriguezpoultry Langshan Lover

Jan 4, 2009
    Claremore, OK
    You've got to give people time to respond.

Do you have a heating pad? Do you have a thermometer? If you do, put the heating pad on the medium/low setting. Place the thermometer on the heating pad to find out the temperature. It should be between 99* and 101*.

This will help until you can get the incubator set up properly. You need to get a thermometer. You can use masking tape or duct tape to cover the vent holes if need be. Again, try and stabilize the temp to around 99* or 101*.

I would wrap the egg in a damp paper towel or washcloth (warm) to help keep some humidity up to help the chick hatch.

4. Big Mama K

Jun 21, 2010
    Fort Branch