Book idea for Christmas!

Discussion in 'Random Ramblings' started by The Chicken Lady, Dec 18, 2008.

1. The Chicken Lady

The Chicken Lady Moderator Staff Member

Apr 21, 2008
    West Michigan
    A friend of mine got me this children's book for Christmas (I am a teacher, and decorate my classroom with all sorts of chicken stuff). It's a cute story, and if you have small children, it would make a perfect gift. The author also wrote Because of Winn-Dixie and The Tale of Despereaux.

[​IMG]

2. debilorrah

debilorrah The Great Guru of Yap Premium Member

That cover illustration is adorable!!!

3. Buff Hooligans

Buff Hooligans Scrambled

Jun 11, 2007
    Bumpety, bump bump bump.

4. AllChookUp

AllChookUp Will Shut Up for Chocolate

May 7, 2008
    Frozen Lake, MN
    Sold.

5. Buff Hooligans

Buff Hooligans Scrambled

Jun 11, 2007
    The woman responsible for hencam.com just released a book about her little leghorn hen:

http://www.tillielaysanegg.com/contact.htm

Her website used to have a list of all her favorite chicken related children's books, but I don't see it there now. I think I may have printed it last year. I'll have to check my chicken files at home. I think chicken children's books would just melt my heart.

Last edited: Dec 19, 2008
  6. The Chicken Lady

Apr 21, 2008
    West Michigan
    Quote:That book looks great! I love the Hencam thing!

Last edited: Dec 19, 2008
  7. Buff Hooligans

Buff Hooligans Scrambled

Jun 11, 2007
    AHA, I dug a little more in the hencam.com website and found her list of chicken children's books. I hope she doesn't mind my copying and pasting it here:

Children's Books

Chickens are comical and some of the best childrens' book authors and illustrators have created books that are fun to have. Here are my favorites. Please contact me if you have a suggestion to add to this list!

How the Ladies Stopped the Wind
    by Bruce McMillan, illustrated by Gunella