Bought chicks that come from a flock with mereks and upper respitory disease

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by PETERKAY012, Feb 19, 2017.

1. PETERKAY012

PETERKAY012 Out Of The Brooder

Nov 30, 2015
    Okay so I bought chicks that were mixed colored silkies for $3 a piece from someone who bred them and I don't usually spend that much if they aren't vaccinated, but that was the only place I could find silkies. This person came out and said their flock had mereks disease and mycoplasma synoviae. I looked them up and they both look pretty bad. Like I had said, the chicks weren't vaccinated so I am worried about them carrying it. The rest of the flock is vaccinated except for 3 roosters I had just bought but they all seem to be healthy. I also bought two turkens mixes and put them with my silkies so I think they would be exposed to? I'm not a chicken expert but I don't know what to do with the chicks that could have it. Should I give them all away and start over again with vaccinated birds? Our hatcheries are getting chicks soon so I would like to act fast and get the new birds I want. I've had them for about 1-2 months and I have had one die because it was almost gasping for air and there was nothing in it's crop so I think it had the upper respitory disease whose name is above. The breeder has told everyone who she sold chicks to to stop asking if they have it

2. Eggcessive

Eggcessive True BYC Addict

Apr 3, 2011
    southern Ohio