Bought Little Giant 'Still Air' Incubator.... should I get the fan?

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by Biddylover, Sep 5, 2010.

1. Biddylover

Biddylover Chillin' With My Peeps

May 24, 2009
    Tennessee
    This is my first time and I have it plugged in (after reading the directions a few times and spilling water everywhere and spiking the temp to 110) and it is regulating now... LOL. I bought this still air incubator and an egg turner but I didn't realize what still air meant. I know stupid right? So the fan is sold separately, do I go and buy the fan? Is it a necessity? I'm a single mom and would like to make this work without spending anymore money lol. I am going to attempt to hatch out 12 Delawares and 12 Barred Rocks and I don't want to unknowingly mess something up.

2. rebelcowboysnb

rebelcowboysnb Confederate Money Farm Premium Member

I Like having a fan. You can hatch fine without one but its more sensitive to temp fluctuations.
    This page may help http://cmfarm.us/stillair.html

Dont
    wast money on the fan kits. Just find a pc fan an wire it to a old power plug. Just need a plug with a DC output close to 12 volts.

3. rebel yell

rebel yell Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 27, 2010
    Alabama
    he, knows what hes talking about, i have the same bator & he guided me trough it yesterday & my temp. hardly moves at all if any & that is with 3 difernt thermomters, it is doing great, got to get my humidity down a bit but thats all, go with the pc fan, alot cheaper than the fan kit.

4. Biddylover

May 24, 2009
    Tennessee