1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Boy or girl?

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by I hrt my dogs, Oct 13, 2015.

1. I hrt my dogs

I hrt my dogs Out Of The Brooder

Oct 5, 2015
    South Carolina
    Good morning I was wondering what everyone's opinion is on this one. I bought 3 "pullets" and 2 are crowing and definately roosters.I am not sure of this one. She/ he is so gentle and friendly. An approx 13 week supposed Easter Egger. Please tell me what you think. I am brand new to having chickens and really pretty clueless. Thank you[​IMG]
    [​IMG]

2. Lozuufy

Lozuufy Pigeons are nutty Premium Member

May 20, 2012
    MA/VT
    I'd say female for sure, her saddle feathers look very rounded - saddle feathers are the ones on the lower back/base of the tail, in roosters they are pointy and in hens they are rounded. [​IMG]

3. BuffaloridaGirl

BuffaloridaGirl Chillin' With My Peeps

Those legs look pretty skinny... And the tail stands more erect. I say it's a pullet. Sorry you got stuck with some Roos! I just posted my he or she pics on "Easter egger sexing tips/tricks". Take a peek at some of those pictures that others have shared and the feedback. [​IMG] [​IMG]
    This is the one I suspect is a Roo. Welcome to BYC!

Last edited: Oct 13, 2015
  4. I hrt my dogs

Oct 5, 2015
    South Carolina
    Oh, thank you so much. I was reading a lot about feathers and get more confused the more I read. Thank you for your help. I really hope she is a she. I can't have roosters and I really don't want to give her up. [​IMG]

5. Cockatrice6420

Cockatrice6420 Chillin' With My Peeps

I'd say that looks like a pretty little girl, but if you have two roos as well, you'll have to be getting alot more girls, or pick a boy to keep.

6. BuffaloridaGirl