boys, girls? Dying to know!

Discussion in 'Turkeys' started by thecityman, Aug 4, 2010.

1. thecityman

thecityman Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 14, 2010
    I guess I'm rushing things here, but I'm a TOTAL newbie to turkeys and am dying to know if I have girls or boys and how many of each! Perhaps there is some way to tell that I don't know about. They are about 2.5 months old. Two of them all quite a bit smaller than the other 2, so I'm thinking the small ones are hens and the big ones Jakes.....is that a reasonable assumption, a near-certain assumption, or a flat out guess (ie is size a sure indicator of sex?)

PLEASE take a look for me! What do you all think???

OK, this very first picture shows my biggest turk and my smallest turk....as you can see, there is a big difference (all are exact same age, btw). So, can I assume big one is male, little female? Or not neccessarily???

[​IMG]

the rest are group photos.....

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. thecityman

Jun 14, 2010
    closeups

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

3. turkaholic

turkaholic Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 2, 2010
    Maryland
    From what I can see, I'm saying two males and two hens.

4. thecityman

Jun 14, 2010
    that would be PERFECT. Do you base that only on the fact that 2 are big and 2 are small? Are there any other characteristics that lead you to that conclusion???

Thanks, btw.

5. Denninmi

Denninmi Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 26, 2009
    They look so good. Great job there, dad!

6. turkaholic

Jan 2, 2010
    Maryland
    Quote:If they are indeed the same age, the males will start to out grow the hens. Especially at the age your birds are . Their feet will get larger and when you've had turkeys long enough, you can see subtle differences in the shape of the head, snood development, and believe it or not, their eyes! Hens have a softer "look" around the eye that is hard to explain, but seeing the difference comes with experience.

7. Lagerdogger

Lagerdogger Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 30, 2010
    Aitkin, MN