Boys or girls?? And breed ID too.....

Discussion in 'Quail' started by cutechick2010, Nov 17, 2010.

1. cutechick2010

cutechick2010 Chillin' With My Peeps

I am fairly new to quail, I have raise buttons for a little over a year and now am trying to branch out into the "meat" quail. I bought a batch of eggs a few months ago that were a conglomeration of breeds, these were the left-overs that hadn't sold in her other auctions.
    Anyway, with the buttons I can tell boys from girls by their color, but I am not quite so familiar with the larger quail yet. I heard/saw one of them "crowing" this afternoon, which of course is very cute, LOL. My question is, it is only the males that crow, right? I have seen one of my young buttons that I could have sworn was a hen crowing, so that confused me. As for the breed ID part, I took some pictures to show ya'll what they look like.

I am pretty sure this is a Coturnix, although I don't know if it's a male of female:
    [​IMG]

Tibetan, mabye?
    [​IMG]

This gorgeous guy is the one that was crowing, and is trying to mate with some of the others too:
    [​IMG]

These are really pretty, have no clue what they are:
    [​IMG]

Thanks for any and all help! [​IMG]

2. mhwc56

mhwc56 Chillin' With My Peeps

Coturnix...just different colors/patterns of them.
    1st pic is a Brown/wild color female ( Speckled chest)
    the 1 to the right is a Range but i know too little about that color to comment
    the 1 behind the Range is a Brown ..about 90 % sure it's a male( no speckles on chest)
    2 all the way to the back right look to also be Range
    of course the white is a White ( and they cannot be visually sexed..neither can the Ranges or the Tuxedo)
    the browns with white fronts are called Tuxedo
    the 1 in the 4th pic is a Manchurian or Manchurian Gold (female..speckled chest...)

You want more females then males..ratio of 3-5 female to each male or the males will wear the female ragged when they're breeding.