BR owners, please come tell me what you think!!

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by ChickenLittle09, Nov 5, 2009.

1. ChickenLittle09

ChickenLittle09 Out Of The Brooder

Aug 24, 2009
    California
    When we brought this BR pullet home at 1 week old she already had a prominent comb that was orange in color. Most recently it’s begun to turn pink.
    In the last picture I circled one of two pointy feathers that stick out on either side her rump. Nowhere else can we see them pointed.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Last edited: Nov 5, 2009
  2. BeardedLadyFarm

BeardedLadyFarm Chillin' With My Peeps

May 31, 2009
    Cobleskill NY
    I may be wrong, but it looks like my 2 BR pullets at that age. One had a bigger comb early on, and the other not until later. I think cockerels are usually lighter as well. I'm no pro...

The experts will chime in, I'm sure.

3. cthrash1

cthrash1 Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 15, 2008
    Somerset, KY
    It's a girly

4. ChickenLittle09

ChickenLittle09 Out Of The Brooder

Aug 24, 2009
    California
    Yay!! I was worried when those two feathers started to show.

PhiladelphiaPhlock, do your girls have the pointy feathers?

[​IMG] and thank you for such fast replies!

5. BeardedLadyFarm

May 31, 2009
    Cobleskill NY
    I'd have to check to see if there are any pointy ones or not. I have 12 mature pullets now, and every one of them I was convinced was a boy at one point or another. I was looking for saddle feathers, and sickle feathers, and hackles like it was my job. I had a couple of accidental roosters, but they were quite obvious. I didn't have to look hard at all.

I think she would be a little young to get too many rooster feathers, but her coloration and comb are just like my girls. My girls who started laying eggs today! Don't worry about a couple of feathers. She'll change quite a bit more before it's all said and done.

6. BeardedLadyFarm

May 31, 2009
    Cobleskill NY