BR Rooster with red scabbed legs and frayed feathers (picture inc. ) LICE? MITES? help!!

janelle18

Songster
7 Years
Apr 3, 2012
Ontario, Canada
My Coop
My Coop
Here are some pictures of my roo he is about 7 mo. old. I have noticed recently that his feathers are having a frayed appearance and the hens have been pulling at them. I wasn't too concerned but today notice that his legs almost looked plucked and that he had green tinged area's, looked like bruising but was pretty green in colour. He is the only roo in a pen of 7 girls and has been breeding them regularly, and isn't acting sick. Is this a sign of a disease, mites, or lice? I have no experience with this, so I am not sure what these symptoms may mean.

Here you can see his legs

You can sort of see here how his feathers don't have a smooth appearance.

My first thought was scaly leg mites and grooming hens. I'd be watching the girls to see if this is happening to him. For myself it is a pre cannabalistic behaviour warning sign. Looks like he has some crusting on the legs.. I would soak them and lather them with polysporin. Next I would give him a lice/mite bath and keep him inside until he is completely dry. Next I would spray all the birds in the coop with no pick solution and sprinkle high quality cat food on the ground for extra protein. Do you free range?

what do I look for for mites? You can't see the green in the pictures it is only small patches on the upper legs, i can try and get more pictures. What is the difference with black sex link and plymouth barred rock? We got these from a hatchery. I thought that chickens don't usually mouth in their first year?

what do I look for for mites? You can't see the green in the pictures it is only small patches on the upper legs, i can try and get more pictures. What is the difference with black sex link and plymouth barred rock? We got these from a hatchery. I thought that chickens don't usually mouth in their first year?