Braistorming idea for additional ventillation (mostly for winter)

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by igapo, Mar 23, 2013.

1. igapo

igapo Out Of The Brooder

Hi. I am new to chicken raising and I am in just starting to build a chicken coop (going to the store today for 4x4 posts). I have been doing a ton of research this winter and I think I've decided on a lean-to box design. As I research ventilation I understand that many recommend over-ventilating to play it safe. What I don't understand is the proper ventilation in the winter and I had an idea. There doesn't seem to be much about winter ventilating ideas other than on the roof and yet the push is for no drafts.

My ventilation idea is this: In the bottom of the coop floor, have 1-2 sections of J-shaped PVC so that the air is coming through the bottom (raised coop), going through the upside down J and then getting distributed just above the coop bedding. These seem like they could be useful to provide fresh air without draft in the winter and can be threaded underneath to cap off at the bottom when not needed. I perseverate on things so maybe I'm over thinking (this is part of the fun). Any thoughts? Thanks.

2. ChickenCanoe

ChickenCanoe Chicken Obsessed

Nov 23, 2010
    St. Louis, MO
    Depends a lot on climate. Where do you live?
    I overthink everything too. But that allows coming up with some unique things.
    I don't worry about drafts, except when the birds are wet. 1 sq. ft. per bird is what you should shoot for.
    My newest coops have 1/3 of both the East and West walls open. If a bad storm is coming I slide a cover over the windward side.
    Insufficient ventilation kills birds as much as predation.