Brand new chicken mom

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by smorris2, Apr 8, 2017.

1. smorris2

smorris2 Out Of The Brooder

Apr 8, 2017
    Hello all! I'm new to having backyard chickens and am learning as I go. I have 5 dominicker pullets that are 7-9 weeks old and 3 one year old hens. We were going to separate the hens from the chicks but decided to just put them together and pray for the best because it was going to be very difficult to keep them separate. The hens have been overall good to my "babies" but the biggest hen is a bully. If she's out and the chicks are eating or getting water she runs them off. Her beak was clipped as a chick (we've only had her a week) so she's not hurting them but they run scared as can be. Any advice would be appreciated. Oh, and she would be the only one that's actively laying so I can't get too mad at her

2. redsoxs

redsoxs Chicken Obsessed

Jul 17, 2011
    North Central Kansas
  3. Pork Pie Ken

Pork Pie Ken Monkey Business Premium Member

Jan 30, 2015
    Africa - near the equator
    Hi and welcome to BYC - thanks for joining us. By that age, the chicks are sufficiently robust to take a peck or two. The key is to have a number of feeding stations and places of refuge, where the chicks can avoid the adults (perches, shrubs, etc).

I'm sure the links given by reasons will give further details.

Best wishes
    CT

4. drumstick diva

drumstick diva Still crazy after all these years. Premium Member

Aug 26, 2009
    Out to pasture
    Thank you for joining us at Backyard chickens.

5. Ol Grey Mare

Ol Grey Mare One egg shy of a full carton. ..... Premium Member

Mar 9, 2014
    Oregon
    My Coop
    Welcome to BYC.