Brand new chicken owner but life long chicken lover!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by BabyChicken420, Nov 20, 2015.

1. BabyChicken420

BabyChicken420 Out Of The Brooder

Nov 20, 2015
    South Texas
    Hello everyone, since getting my first chick at the end of September I have always been directed to BYC and found myself exploring almost daily, so I finally decided to make an account! I own three chicks as of now and plan on getting a few more as my city limit is 7. I am also in the process of finishing a coop. I'm a student, a biomedical major focusing on a pre-dental degree with aspirations to become a dentist, and live in South Texas.

The last time my family owned chickens was about thirteen years ago when I was barely 5 years old, I was too young to really remember but now I would like some of my own! I bought my first chicken at a flea market two months ago because I had my mind set on getting a chicken for while, she is mixed/still don't know what breed (will have to make a thread on that). First day it cried and cried and with just one internet search I found it is not good to have one chicken alone, so I had to buy another next day! I found cute bantam silkie chick at a local feed store. My boyfriend and I fell in love with them and had to get another, we went back to the same feed store and got another bantam silkie (which I think might be a rooster [​IMG]). We are now building a small coop which be plan to finish by next month. I never knew how much responsibility could go into raising chicken, but now I know and can't get enough!

I love this site already and how helpful it is to providing information on every single aspect of raising chickens. I hope to contribute all that I can and meet others who can help me along my journey of raising happy, healthy chickens!

[​IMG]

2. Birdrain92

Birdrain92 Overrun With Chickens

Jun 7, 2013
    Idaho
    Welcome To BYC! Make yourself comfortable and ask any questions you may have.
    [​IMG]