1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Brand New Chicks and Poults - Vaccinations

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by thebayougypsy, Apr 11, 2017.

1. thebayougypsy

thebayougypsy Just Hatched

Mar 29, 2017
    Hey everyone! I'm new to BYC and I'm new to the chicken world. My husband and I have 21 week old chicks and 2 three day old turkey poults. We did lose 1 chick last week but everyone seems to be hanging on so far. At the recommendation of the turkey breeder, we are keeping the poults and chicks together for the poults' first week. They are eating and drinking on their own now but thought it would be a good idea to keep them together for warmth initially. 18 of the 21 chicks were vaccinated for Marek's Disease because 3 were Cochin Bantams and were too small for the hatchery to do before shipping. At the recommendation of Meyer Hatchery, I was going to spray vaccinate the entire flock later this week and wanted to know if I should remove the turkey poults before vaccinating the chicks. Any other vaccinations I should be completing in the coming weeks?

2. drumstick diva

drumstick diva Still crazy after all these years. Premium Member

Aug 26, 2009
    Out to pasture
    I think the turkey people would know best re: removing them before the vaccinations. Just put "turkey thread," in the search box and it will come up for you.

3. ninjawesome

ninjawesome Currently being awesome Premium Member

Jun 4, 2015
    Wild, Wild West
    Hi there and [​IMG]! We are glad you could join the flock!

4. thebayougypsy

Mar 29, 2017