Brand new, how many chickens for my space?

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by katethegreat, Nov 11, 2009.

1. katethegreat

katethegreat Out Of The Brooder

Nov 8, 2009
    Hey there, I'm new to chickens and will be purchasing some hens for my urban backyard this Spring. We'll be getting dual purpose breeds so we can have eggs through the summer and then butcher come fall. Currently my DH is building me an 8 foot x 4 foot coop. It'll have a run that is about 18 feet long and 6 feet wide. These will be contraband chickens so I want to keep any noise and smell down. I was thinking maybe 7-8 hens max, likely 6 if I can purchase them locally. What do you think? How many hens would be ideal for this space and my other considerations?
    Thanks for the help!
    Katie

2. babyblue

babyblue Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 23, 2009
    I would go with 6, with 8 being the very max. our coop is 8x4, we have 6 buff girls, 1 ee girl and 2 roosters that are going to be dinner before winter. dh is not happy with the size and wishes he has built 8x5 or even 7x5. with the feeder and water and roosts for us there seems to be very little space left because it seems so long and narrow. we also have a 16x40 or so run as well.

3. katethegreat

Nov 8, 2009
    Thanks for the help!

4. gkeesling

gkeesling Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 24, 2008
    Hagerstown, IN
    What I've heard, and gone by, is 4 sq. ft. per chicken in the coop and 8 sq. ft. per chicken in the run. so 8-10 chickens would be good if you wanted to take it to the limit.

5. Jess N Jeff

Jess N Jeff Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 25, 2009
    South San Diego, Cali