BRAND NEW! lots of questions?

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by kthxbye, Feb 6, 2012.

1. kthxbye

kthxbye New Egg

Feb 6, 2012
    Oklahoma
    okay, so I am brand new at chickens for egg laying, care and such, and am planning to get five chickens. Here are my questions:
    1) what breeds are good for this purpose/easy for a beginner(I live in Oklahoma if that matters)
    2) I know the coop should be 20 sq ft and the run 50, but what would be the dimensions if i were to make it rectangular? (like _x_ or whatnot, I'm not good at math AT ALL :p)
    3) is there a certain brand of food that's better than another? what brand do you reccommend?

2. Yay Chicks!

Yay Chicks! Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 15, 2010
    Forest Grove, OR
    [​IMG]Glad you joined us!

There are a good number of breeds of chickens that are good backyard birds that lay well. Orpingtons and Plymouth Barred Rocks are favorites. I have one of each of those and a couple of Easter Eggers. My Barred Rock is my best layer. She's also a really calm good bird. I like the Easter Eggers because the add green eggs to the mix. I'm sure you will find out a lot about the different breeds and which will be right for you as you research this site.

Lots of different feeds as well. That also will depend on what you want. Organic or not etc.

Take a stroll around the coop section of the forum. There are some good plans laid out.

Have fun!

3. kthxbye

kthxbye New Egg

Feb 6, 2012
    Oklahoma
    Thanks! i'm really glad that I found this site! it's awesome[​IMG]

4. OCpeep

OCpeep Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 8, 2012
    Orange County, CA
    [​IMG]

Welcome!

For a 20 sqft coop it can be 4ft x 5ft. The run at 50 sqft can be 5ft x 10ft. Just multiply the the two numbers together to get the sqft area.