1. Come check out hundreds of awesome coop pages (and a few that need suggestions) in our 2018 Coop Rating Project!

Brand new to backyard chicken raising

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Kim from Upstate New York, Jul 1, 2017.

1. Kim from Upstate New York

Kim from Upstate New York In the Brooder

Jul 1, 2017
    Hi Everyone!

I just purchased 6 chickens and 6 ducks from my local Tractor Supply store 10 weeks ago. I am brand new to raising backyard chickens and ducks and could use all the advice I can get! I am getting so much enjoyment out of my new flock and hope to keep them happy and healthy. I thought that this seemed to be an excellent place to get advice from. I live in upstate New York where the weather can sometimes be challenging but we built a beautiful coop and secure run with a roof so they can be safe and dry. I'm so excited to raise these chicks and ducks!!

2. oldhenlikesdogs

oldhenlikesdogs Chicken tender Premium Member

Jul 16, 2015
    central Wisconsin
    Welcome, this is the place to be if you enjoy poultry, lots of great information, lots of discussions, and people who just like discussing their animals and lives. Hopefully you can find some great ideas, and answers to any questions you may have. Keeping poultry in my opinion is the best possible hobby ever.

:welcome

3. drumstick diva

drumstick diva Still crazy after all these years. Premium Member

Aug 26, 2009
    Out to pasture
    Thank you for joining us at Backyard chickens Kim, hope you will enjoy it as much as we do.

4. theoldchick

theoldchick The Chicken Whisperer Premium Member

May 11, 2010
    Howdy! A new coop? Show us!

5. Pork Pie Ken

Pork Pie Ken Flockless Premium Member

Jan 30, 2015
    Africa - near the equator
    Hello Kim and welcome to BYC