Brand new to the goat world....questions

Discussion in 'Other Pets & Livestock' started by StacyV, Jan 12, 2009.

1. StacyV

StacyV New Egg

Nov 13, 2008
    I am brand new to the world of country living and small farms. I am just starting out and I have so many questions. So thankful I found this site! I currently have a 1 month old nigerian dwarf. I got him when he was 1 week old. He has been on the bottle since then. He was started on store bought goat milk but has since switched to whole cows milk. He is currently eating around 10 ounces, three times a day. From what I am reading this looks about right. He also has water and some hay in his pen. He does nibble at the hay.

My question is....we just bought a home in the country. We have not yet moved. So the baby has been living in an octagon pen in my kitchen and now basement for the past 4 weeks. He has grown a tremendous amount since I got him. I do let him out in the house to play and interact with us and my little dog. When is it time for him to go to the barn? It seems like we are really starting to see that he is a farm animal not a house animal! If you know what I mean. It will be at least a month before we move. Is it ok to keep him inside? Should I have another goat before I turn him to the barn? Currently we just have him. If need be I could put him in the barn at the new house and just drive there daily if I needed to. What do you all suggest???

2. Bear Foot Farm

Bear Foot Farm Overrun With Chickens

Mar 31, 2008
    Grifton NC
    Should I have another goat before I turn him to the barn?

Definitely! Goats are herd animals and should never be kept alone

And if youre not going to be breeding them, you should probably neuter him as well​

3. Chicken James

Chicken James New Egg

Jan 9, 2009