1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

brand new to this

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by zgun, Sep 10, 2015.

1. zgun

zgun New Egg

Sep 10, 2015
    Hello friends, I am brand new to country living and chickens. I live about an hour southeast of Athens, GA and am surrounded by rural farms, etc. I have access to a Tractor Supply. Is this the best place for all my needs (involving country living) and for buying chickens? I will probably start out with 6 chickens and 1 rooster. Any suggestions as to what type? One article mentioned Black Australorp as they are good around children, and grandchildren.

2. baconchicken100

baconchicken100 New Egg

Sep 10, 2015
    Hi

3. Yorkshire Coop

Yorkshire Coop Moderator Staff Member

Aug 16, 2014
    Yorkshire UK
    My Coop
    Hi :welcome

Glad you could join the flock! How exciting for you to be a starting out in your chicken adventures :celebrate The learning centre is a great place to start for lots of very helpful articles on getting your flock established. Here is the link if you have not already checked it out ~ https://www.backyardchickens.com/atype/1/Learning_Center
    You also might like to have a look through the breed section for lots of reviews ~ https://www.backyardchickens.com/products/category/chicken-breeds

Wishing you the very best of luck in the future. Be sure to ask any questions that you may have, the forum sections are very diverse with a section for all topics.

Enjoy BYC :frow

4. N F C

N F C Home in WY Premium Member

Dec 12, 2013
    Wyoming
    [​IMG]