Brand- spanking - new

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Jules0988, Mar 14, 2011.

1. Jules0988

Jules0988 In the Brooder

Mar 12, 2011
    Noblesville
    I am new to chickens and have been dreaming and wishing and hoping for several years now that I can someday have some girls of my own to learn about, laugh about and grow attached to. At age 51 I know absolutely nothing except what I have read in books about keeping chickens. I am currently a housewife and day care for my Grand kids (ages 2- Grandson and 3- Granddaughter). We also have 6 year old Grandson that I watched from birth to age 5 until he started school. I love all things domestic- cooking, cleaning, decorating, gardening, crochet, knitting and sewing. I am old school. I love being home and taking care of my family and keeping everyone fed and happy. I have worked at all types of jobs while raising our three kids (all grown now) and have decided the home life is for me. I am considering a dog grooming business in my home for a little extra cash in the near future. We have been actively house hunting for about 7 months now. The first criteria for a house was that it did not have a homeowners association. We built our current house 14 years ago and encountered our first experiences with a homeowner's association with utter distaste. We have been lectured, threatened and chastised unmercifully. We take great pride in home ownership and keep our yard and house impeccably clean and tidy- still - they continue to send letters to us for any little thing. Last summer we decided to replace some unsightly boards on the floor of our deck - within 2 days we received a letter stating we were not allowed to dismantle our deck without permission. We were replacing a few boards ! Anyway , I digress. This site is about chickens- and happy things. I knew , even though we were in an area that is almost rural, I had better not press my luck with chickens. The good news is - we found the house of our dream