1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Breed and Gender?

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by EmilyNC, Sep 9, 2010.

1. EmilyNC

EmilyNC New Egg

Aug 12, 2010
    Charlotte, NC
    Good Morning

I hope I can find out what I have, these are feed store chicks. The red ones were all from the pullet tank, and the black ones were straight run. They were completely black when they were tiny, but now they're getting some coloring going on. Thanks for your help!

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Emily

2. Lovable Chicks

Lovable Chicks Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 23, 2010
    The red ones look like RIR to me but I am no expert. Dont know about the black ones. Hope someone else will help ya better.

3. Happy Chooks

Happy Chooks Moderator Staff Member

Jul 9, 2009
    Northern CA
    My Coop
    The red and white ones are red sex links and pullets. The black one in the back looks to be a rooster, maybe an Australorp? What color are the bottoms of his feet?

4. BekahBear

BekahBear Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 3, 2010
    Arizona
    the red ones are sex-links and are girls. [​IMG] they will give you lots of nice eggs. the black one in the back looks like a black australorp roo to me . the buff colored chick...maybe buff rock? the others idk. [​IMG]

5. EmilyNC

EmilyNC New Egg

Aug 12, 2010
    Charlotte, NC
    Thanks! I'll have to look at their feet when I get home. What should I be looking for? I was hoping they were Australorps, but when they started getting the grey/white feathering I started to wonder. I thought Australorps were all black?

Emily

6. Happy Chooks

Jul 9, 2009
    Northern CA
    My Coop