1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Breed? Gender?

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by 5acresandadream, Nov 17, 2016.

1. 5acresandadream

5acresandadream Out Of The Brooder

Oct 31, 2016
    North Eastern USA
    I picked these two up yesterday. Owner said it was a barn yard mix, and that they are hens. Said they got them as peeps in April so that would make them around 7 months. They are only slightly smaller than my adult leghorns. Any idea on breed? The one on the left has a poofy head, I am hoping it's a hen but I'm new to all this so idk): its feathers are little ruffled, so its tail is looking beat up.

[​IMG]

Last edited: Nov 17, 2016
  2. 5acresandadream

Oct 31, 2016
    North Eastern USA
    [​IMG] another pic

3. Chicken Girl1

Chicken Girl1 Stuck back in the 40s Premium Member

Mar 3, 2015
    Virginia
    They look to be what the seller said the were, mixes. I also think they are both pullets, though I would get a second opinion. If you tell us a little more about them we maybe able to tell you what possible breeds are in them. How many toes do they have? What type of comb? The one with out the crest looks like it has a rosecomb but its hard to tell.

4. 5acresandadream

Oct 31, 2016
    North Eastern USA
    They both appear to have 4 toes, they aren't as friendly as my others so they are really hard to catch. I will grab them when they roost tonight and get a closer pic. Both of their combs look alike in size and shape as far as I could tell when looking at them last night. I'm not well informed of the different types of combs there are): I have so much to learn lol

5. Chicken Girl1

Mar 3, 2015
    Virginia
  6. 5acresandadream

Oct 31, 2016
    North Eastern USA
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]