Breed opinions please?

Discussion in 'General breed discussions & FAQ' started by cpwhip, Jul 25, 2011.

1. cpwhip

cpwhip Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 22, 2011
    Maryland
    Ok, I'm new to chicken keeping right now I have 8 RSL and love 'em my question is I would like to have a variety
    of hens but I want to only keep easily handled and friendly types in your opinions what would be some good choices to
    add to my flock? I would like to add the new chicks in before my RSL are grown would that be a good time to add them?
    my RSL's are 7 weeks old. so far I've been considering Plymouth rock or Barred rock but I'm not sure? [​IMG]

Last edited: Jul 25, 2011
  2. cpwhip

Jun 22, 2011
    Maryland
    no one?

3. ninabeast

ninabeast Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 10, 2011
    Upstate New York
    My friendliest hens are my Buff Orpingtons, of the four breeds I have. They haven't started to lay yet, so I can't speak to that, but I hear they're god layers once they get going.

4. FriendlyFlyer

FriendlyFlyer Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 16, 2011
    I love my Golden Comets (Gold Sex Link) they are only 6 weeks old but are beautiful, active, and have great personalities! They are also promised to be great layers and can easily be trained to be very friendly birds.

5. coldupnorth

coldupnorth Chillin' With My Peeps

May 11, 2011
    N. MN
    The friendliest chickens we have are our Buff Orpingtons - our EE mixes are pretty friendly too (they were handled alot as chicks). Hope you find the kind you like [​IMG]

6. coyote826

coyote826 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 1, 2010
    Flagler County, FL