Breed question from a newb

Discussion in 'General breed discussions & FAQ' started by Scoots, Aug 21, 2010.

1. Scoots

Scoots New Egg

Aug 21, 2010
    Brownsville, OR
    Can someone please highlight the differences between Buff Orpingtons and Buff Plymouth Rocks?
    To me there's very little difference, except the Orps have white legs and the Rocks have yellow legs, but I'm a newb, so what do I know.

I'm going to my first poultry show in Oct. in Stevens, Wa. I'd like to be a little better informed than I am now. I'll be spending the winter building a hen house and enclosed run (lots of raccoons in my area), and getting chicks in the spring.

For those that have had both Buff Orps and Buff Rocks - which did you prefer?

2. kathyinmo

kathyinmo Nothing In Moderation

[​IMG]

Buff Rocks
    Comb, Face, Waddles, and Ear-Lobes: Bright Red
    Beak: Yellow
    Eyes: Reddish Bay
    Shanks and Toes: Rich Yellow

Buff Orps
    Comb, Face, Waddles, and Ear-Lobes: Bright Red
    Beak: Pinkish white
    Eyes: Reddish Bay
    Shanks and Toes: Pinkish White

3. Yellow House Farm

Yellow House Farm Overrun With Chickens

Jun 22, 2009
    Barrington, NH
    Quote:,