Breed suggestions for Greece

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by Ajones1369, Jan 22, 2014.

1. Ajones1369

Ajones1369 New Egg

Jan 22, 2014
    I'd like to thank responses in advance, I have little to no prior experience with ducks other than a short 3 month stay in France at a château restoration project.

I now live in southern Greece and would like to raise some ducks for egg production (eggs large as Jumbo to Extra Jumbo) but could use assistance in selecting a breed best for the dry environment here. I don't mind if they are a little broody but they do need to forage well and lay consistently. I've included the climate data for a nearby village to help with the suggestions.

~~Climate Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec
    Day temperature in °C 15° 16° 17° 21° 25° 30° 32° 33° 29° 24° 20° 16°
    Night temperature in °C 8° 8° 9° 12° 15° 19° 22° 22° 19° 16° 13° 10°
    Water temperaturein °C 15° 14° 14° 16° 18° 21° 23° 24° 23° 22° 19° 16°
    Hours of sun per day 4.4 4.8 6.1 7.1 8.7 11.2 11.4 10.7 8.9 6.5 4.7 4.1
    Rainy days 13 10 10 8 4 2 1 2 3 8 10 13

2. Ajones1369

Ajones1369 New Egg

Jan 22, 2014
    Bueller?

3. Amiga

Amiga Overrun with Runners Premium Member

Jan 3, 2010
    Southern New England
    Welcome to the Duck Forum and [​IMG]

Making plans for that hot and dry summer, here are my thoughts.

While many of the smaller, productive, good foraging breeds don't need a full sized pond, for optimal health (laying is quite a high-demand activity for energy and nutrients), ducks need plenty of water to drink, to wash, and to cool down.

I use 2'x3'x8" concrete mixing pans, heavy plastic. They are easily rinsed and drained, and the runoff water goes into the gardens to water and fertilize.