Breed suggestions!

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by lalydiafaith, Apr 6, 2018.

1. lalydiafaith

lalydiafaith In the Brooder

Apr 5, 2018
    Richmond, Va
    Hey everyone! This is my very first time buying chickens and raising them. I'm looking for a chicken breed that will fit my needs perfectly (or close to it). They need to be Backyard friendly meaning they don't need a ton of space, good in Hot and cold, and friendly in general. I want them mainly for pets and eggs. But eggs are not my top priority. I was looking into Silkies or some type of Orpington. I would greatly appreciate suggestions! And i would like to know some breeds that go well together because i'm interested in getting two types. I'm only allowed to get 4 chickens. And i would like to buy them as chicks. I also appreciate tips and tricks on raising chickens/chicks. Thanks!

WestoftheRest and kandi862 like this.
  2. chickencheeper

chickencheeper Crowing

Jun 4, 2017
    Massachusetts
    My Coop
    Buff orpingtons, and some type of Brahma

The Phantom and lalydiafaith like this.
  3. cholland

cholland Songster

Jan 17, 2017
    California
    Australorps and an Easter egger for color.

lalydiafaith likes this.
  4. chickencheeper

chickencheeper Crowing

Jun 4, 2017
    Massachusetts
    My Coop
    I was gonna suggest EEs too! They’re great

chickbrad24 and lalydiafaith like this.
  5. chickbrad24

chickbrad24 Songster

Jun 18, 2014
    Pennsylvania

×2 Orpingtons and Brahmas, are both perfect friendly chickens. They come in a variety of beautiful colors and are both hot and cold hardy.

lalydiafaith and chickencheeper like this.
  6. EggSighted4Life

EggSighted4Life Free Ranging

Hi, welcome to BYC! :frow

Unfortunately I can recommend AGAINST both buff Orpington and Silkies for the needs you state. They are KNOWN to be too broody and that means no eggs.

I will highly recommend Barred Rock (or other variety) and Easter Eggers. Possibly Australorp or Speckled Sussex.