Breeding advice please

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by coalcluff7, Nov 5, 2015.

1. coalcluff7

coalcluff7 New Egg

Nov 3, 2015
    Cornwall England
    Hiya everyone ! [​IMG]
    I'm new to backyard chickens , this is my first post.
    I have 3 Indian runners, 2 call ducks and 1 Muscovy , all young , eldest is 8 months old, youngest 1 month ish.
    I want to incubate next year when they breed, so I have a few questions...
    1, what time and how long is breeding season (I don't know if it makes a difference but I'm from Cornwall England uk)
    2. I've read up that homemade incubators are the best, better than brinseas ! ? Advice anyone?
    3. I did hear that breeding season is from April to September , but If that's true surely you wouldn't know when eggs are fertile or able to eat all during that time with males around.
    Thank you . Jade [​IMG][​IMG]

2. Yorkshire Coop

Yorkshire Coop Moderator Staff Member

Aug 16, 2014
    Yorkshire, UK
    My Coop
    Hi :welcome Jade from Yorkshire

Glad you could join the flock! I'm afraid I'm not a duck person but the duck section would be a great place for you to ask your duck questions, here is the link for the duck section ~https://www.backyardchickens.com/f/42/ducks
    I'm sure your ducks will mate as soon as they are mature enough. Chickens do and then mate all year round. So your eggs should be fertile when they have mated. You are safe to eat fertile eggs, an embryo would only develop if the egg was to be incubated.

Good luck with your ducks in the future, love the pic you have posted of them!!

Enjoy BYC :frow

3. Birdrain92

Birdrain92 Overrun With Chickens

Jun 7, 2013
    Idaho
    Welcome to BYC!