Breeding behavior

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by dcannao, Dec 9, 2016.

1. dcannao

dcannao Out Of The Brooder

Dec 5, 2016
    Hi All,
    I'm new to ducks but not new to incubating eggs (I bred reptiles for years). I have 1 khaki drake, 2 magpie hens, and 1 call hen. My drake is new to the flock (2 weeks). 1 magpie is 7 months old and has been laying an egg a day for the past 4 weeks, the other magpie and call are both 6 months old and have not produced any eggs yet. Once I introduced the drake both 6 month old ducks began bobbing their heads rapidly and following around the drake chattering a lot. I have witnessed the drake mounting both of my magpies on several occasions. My question is could the egg producing magpie begin dropping fertile eggs? I've been candling the last few with no observable fertility. I work most evenings until after dark but I have lights on which keep their pen lit until I put them away (lengthening daylight hours). Just throwing that in their so all the facts are known. Any input is graciously accepted.
    Darren

2. chickens really

chickens really Overrun With Chickens

Okay........I will walk along the line of getting in trouble.....lol

Drakes, as you must know, have a Penis....He first must really breed the Hen in order to fertilize eggs.......That will need to happen....

Also, the new hens are head bobbing to say they are nice and not a threat to anyone......Just happy Duck chat......

Cheers!

3. DancingWthDucks

DancingWthDucks Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 21, 2016
    Cumbria, UK
    If you crack open an egg than you should be able to tell if it is fertile by looking at the yolk.
    [​IMG]
    A fertile egg will have a 'bullseye' and an infertile egg will just have a small white dot.

Also does your drake have his curly tail feather? [​IMG]
    I have heard that only fertile drakes have them. If not, you may have to wait until spring for ducklings!

4. Bills vs Beaks

Bills vs Beaks Overrun With Chickens

Aug 31, 2016