Breeding Brother to sister or not?

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by madelynbelle, Apr 17, 2009.

1. madelynbelle

madelynbelle Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 24, 2009
    PUGET SOUND
    I am new to managing a backyard flock. I have BC Marans and I am wondering if I should get a BC Maran rooster from another line or if its o.k. to breed within the flock. I dont want to jeapordize the egg color I get, nor the fertility rates I have heard can be affected by inbreeding. My eggs have not hatched yet, so to speak so I am trying to figure out if I should get more hatching eggs from a different line so there is not a problem when they are older. I am looking for quality not quantity as I would like to have good quality birds. Thanks for any help on this matter My birds will be of the Wade Jeane Line [​IMG]

2. sparkles2307

sparkles2307 Terd of Hurtles

teehee I call it inbreeding but DH calls it "linebreeding" with his angus herd... the neighbor told me that if you can breed father to daughter without any mutations then you have a genetically sound line and can safely continue line breeding them. IDK about all of that, I think its gross when I see the bull out there up on his own mother...

3. Lollipop

Lollipop Chillin' With My Peeps

Madie, you can breed brother to sister for a couple generations if they aren`t too inbred to start with. If you like what you`ve got, that mating would lock in the genes and give you a great foundation in the next mating so you can ad a strange rooster and get good results. From there, it`s father to daughter and son to mother for six generations, keeping the families seperate and good records as to who`s who. After six, you take one of each sex from both families and start over for another six. You can breed excellent fowl for a lifetime like that. Questions? PM me.......Pop

4. patandchickens

patandchickens Flock Mistress

Apr 20, 2007
    Ontario, Canada