Breeding for Show

Discussion in 'General breed discussions & FAQ' started by EmmC, Jan 16, 2017.

1. EmmC

EmmC Out Of The Brooder

Mar 28, 2016
    Vermont
    I have had chickens for probably 10+ years, and I am interested in starting to establish a show quality flock of birds to show and/or sell. I have some experience in raising chicks, but they have always just beenough backyard mixed breed chicks. I have a few questions regarding where to start;

I plan on buying quality birds to start my flock. Should I make sure that my room and hens are not related, or does it not matter?

How many roosters and hens should I have together? I have heard of 1 roo and 2 or 3 hens, or just pairs. Which works best?

Any other tips or things I need to know?

Thanks for any input, I have just started reaserching, and there are so many opinions and options out there that I don't know where to start.

2. BBCHICKS123

BBCHICKS123 Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 19, 2016
    Wander land
    Do not get a hen and a rooster that are related it is bad for the birds and they will produce unhealthy offspring

3. EmmC

EmmC Out Of The Brooder

Mar 28, 2016
    Vermont
    Ok, good to know. Thanks!

4. keesmom

keesmom Overrun With Chickens

Jul 28, 2008
    MA
    Do you know which breed you want to start with? Some are in better shape than others.

In general most show fowl are linebred, so likely any birds you get will be related. There are some lines out there that have had no new blood in decades.

1 person likes this.
  5. aart

aart Chicken Juggler! Premium Member

Nov 27, 2012
    SW Michigan
    My Coop
    Nope, that's not true.

2 people like this.
  6. EmmC

EmmC Out Of The Brooder

Mar 28, 2016
    Vermont

I have been thinking to start out with Dominiques or seramas.Do you know of the quality of the lines of these breeds?

Last edited: Jan 17, 2017
  7. 3riverschick

3riverschick Poultry Lit Chaser

May 19, 2009
    western PA
    My Coop