Breeding? Hatching? purebred vs. "Mutt"

Brydon

Hatching
7 Years
Mar 21, 2012
Hello Everyone,

I am new to the whole chicken raising and was looking at our herd of "mutts" and purebreds and wondering about hatching chicks etc.

We have a few purebred hens with no rooster to go with them. Our big rooster is the product of a golden comet and a leghorn i think. (bought three that were supposed to be pullets... all three were boys) He is nice, really pretty and easy to get along with.

So if we were to raise any babies from the main group they would be mixes. We would only be raising them to repopulate our flock (hard to go from herds of horses and dogs to flocks) so no selling babies or fertilized eggs.

Is that as looked down upon by chicken "people" as breeding mutts is on purpose by dog people?

We do have two icelandic hens and a rooster trio. If we wanted to let them have icelandic babies we would just pen them up where the other boy couldn't get to the girls right? Then wait a while for the eggs to be sure they are fertilized by the right roo?

Is there any harm in letting the icelandic's run with the big boy as long as we aren't going to be hatching anything? or as long as we are hatching them only for our own use?

This whole chicken "farming" thing has me a bit perplexed if you can't tell.

we had what we thought was a respiratory bug in the flock so I got worried but turns out the shavings were just to fine and dusty... I swear there is to much to learn and not enough time!