Breeding Heritage Sexlinks

Discussion in 'General breed discussions & FAQ' started by sunshinechic, May 13, 2016.

1. sunshinechic

sunshinechic Out Of The Brooder

May 11, 2016
    Hello, I am new to BYC and have some questions about breeding heritage sexlinks.
    I have a few Light Sussex hens and I just put them in with a Buff Orpington Rooster. I'm hoping to have sexable chicks soon. I was wondering if I put Silver Sussex or Coronation Sussex hens in with a Buff Orpington Rooster will they also be sexlink chicks? Lighter males and buff females?
    Also will CouCou de Maline hens work as a sexlink project instead of using Barred Rock hens?

2. junebuggena

junebuggena Chicken Obsessed

Apr 17, 2015
    Long Beach, WA
    There is no such thing as 'heritage' sexlinks. All you need for red sexlinks are a red/gold rooster and a silver hen, the exact breeds don't really matter. The issue with using a Buff Orpington as the rooster is that their down color is pale, and will make sexing the chicks at hatch a bit more difficult. By the first week or two, as their feathers come in, you will be able to easily tell the males from the females. Light Sussex, Silver Sussex, and Coronation Sussex are all silver base color breeds so they should work for sexing by color.
    As for black sexlinks, as long as the hens are barred/cuckoo and the rooster isn't solid white or barred, the sexlinking will work. Only the males will have the white spot on the back of the head.

1 person likes this.
  3. sunshinechic

May 11, 2016
    Ok great, thanks so much. I meant 'heritage' because none of my birds are hatchery stock birds, they are all heritage Orpingtons and Sussex. I was told to use only heritage parent breeding stock to create Sex links and never hatchery birds.
    So if I crossed a Black Orpington rooster with CouCou de Maline hens would they be black sex link? And males have spot in head?

4. junebuggena

Apr 17, 2015
    Long Beach, WA